Main Chakra Types

Published: 04th June 2010
Views: N/A

The body has many major and minor chakras, but in this article I will focus on the main chakras. Each chakra also has a specific number of spokes or petals and these indicate the primary and secondary force undulations as the energy enters the depression in the etheric body where the chakra is located.

The Basic or Root Chakra

The 1st centre is the Root or Basic Chakra, which has a primary force that radiates out with 4 spokes. As a result of this apparent quadrant, the basic chakra is often symbolically represented by a cross. It is orange/red in colour and is the chakra most closely associated with the Physical Plane of Existence.

The Spleen Chakra

The 2nd centre is the spleen chakra which has 6 spokes of different colours, these colours represent the vital force of the other energy centres; red, orange, yellow, green, blue and violet. The primary role of the spleen chakra is to disperse the energy, which comes in from the sun, to the other chakras. It is like a doctor dispensing the vitality from the source which enables the remaining chakras to function efficiently.

The Navel or Solar Plexus Chakra

The 3rd centre is the navel or solar plexus chakra and has a primary force of 10 spokes. It is mainly associated with emotions and feelings. The colours that dominate are red and green and it undulates with these colours showing in various intensity.

The Heart Chakra

The 4th centre is the heart chakra which has 4 quadrants each with 3 parts giving it a primary force of 12 spokes. It is a beautiful golden colour.

The Throat Chakra

The 5th centre is the throat chakra which has 16 spokes and it's colour is predominantly blue but green also features. It can also give off a silvery appearance when viewed by a clairvoyant.

The Third-Eye Chakra

The 6th centre is the chakra situated between the eye-brows and it gives off the appearance of being divided into 2 pieces. One half appears rose coloured with a hint of yellow and the other half is purple and blue. Each half has 48 spokes giving it a primary force of 96 spokes. The number of spokes indicate that this chakra is of a much higher calibre than the previous ones already mentioned. The development of this chakra influences the permanent seeds that a human carries from one incarnation to the next and is therefore vital for the spiritual evolution of man.

The Crown Chakra

The 7th centre is the crown chakra located at the top of the head. It is primarily violet but contains a prism of various colours. It is usually the last chakra to be developed during a human's incarnation. The arrangement of the spokes varies from the other chakras in that it has an outer circle of 960 spokes and then an inner circle of 12 spokes. It appears as a depression in the etheric double of man, as do all the other chakras, where the primary force comes into the energy center. However, as the person develops spiritually, this chakra has the unique quality of reversing upon itself and it no longer receives the divine energy but instead radiates it out, appearing like a crown of radiant energy when seen clairvoyantly.

The above information has been adapted from the book 'The Chakras' by C.W. Leadbetter and images of the chakras described above can be seen in this book. The book is available for purchase from the Kumara Centre.

Liz McCaughey is the founder of Kumara Meditation & Healing Centre in Perth, Western Australia. The centre offers deeper theosophical studies, meditation & healing, reiki, kabbalah and pranic healing. Since 2003 she has taught hundreds of people how to meditate from basic to advanced levels. Visit for more information.

Copyright by Kumara Enterprise Pty Ltd - ACN: 13 105 023 970 - - Tel: 08 93073500

Report this article Ask About This Article

More to Explore